A typical GCC complaint. Due to a chiropractors incompetence or just bad luck that patient came in?

June 17, 2010
By

Vote-NOWhen I was on the register I would often see cases come before the Professional Conduct Committee and you would think there but for the……….

These “allegations” were just posted on the GCC website, I know nothing about the chiropractor except the chiropractor is a woman and the patient is a woman who returned to the clinic for a couple of visits  having previously attended the clinic six moths previously for treatment and presumably was satisfied with the service. Unfortunately for the chiropractor this time the patient did not like the chiropractors approach and complained to the GCC. You would never get complaints like this at the GMC. I have always maintained these complaints could be handled through mediation with the Chiropractic Patients Association but Margaret Coats would have none of it.

I have adjusted patients in shorts and sandals, my flies have been undone, I try to have a laugh with patients, I often give elder patients a hug and when the GCC were calling asking if I was a chiropractor I thought it best if I answered the phone myself which often interrupted consultations. I am always running late, so if you are looking for a chiropractic suit, I am not the one you would go to. I would love to do a survey to find out how many chiropractors live with or a married to a former client, thats how good chiropractic care can  be, patients want it on tap in their homes. Problem is after the divorce the X is encouraged to pass by the GCC to make a complaint and stick the knife in with Margaret Coats help.

Common sense would tell you that it would be difficult to adjust someone with out assessing their spine first, then I dont know much about the McTimoney technique, but its hard to believe the lady would just start treating without a history or examination, The problem will turn out to be she only performed a chiropractic examination and perhaps some readers could explain the risks associated with the McTimoney technique that this chiropractor should have explained to her patient.

ALLEGATION A:

That being a registered chiropractor you are guilty of unacceptable

professional conduct

PARTICULARS OF ALLEGATION A:

That, whilst a registered chiropractor:

1. At all material times you practised as a chiropractor at the Albion Acupuncture &

Chiropractic Clinic (“the Clinic”), 1 Albion Street, Brighton, BN2 2NE.

2. On 25 September 2008 Patient A attended an appointment with you at the Clinic.

3. You failed to treat Patient A politely, considerately and with respect in that:

(a) On 25 and/or 27 September 2008 having asked her to undress, you failed to

offer her a gown to wear;

(b) On 25 and/or 27 September 2008, during the course of Patient A’s

treatment session, without explanation to her or seeking her agreement you:

2

(i) answered telephone calls in the treatment room on around three

occasions;

(ii) left the treatment room to speak on the telephone on one of the

occasions referred to at 3(b)(i) above;

(iii) left Patient A uncovered on each occasion referred to at 3(b)(ii)

above;

(c) On 25 September 2008, you provided treatment to Patient A while you

were bare foot without seeking her agreement to this;

(d) On 25 September 2008, when Patient A contacted you by telephone,

raising concerns about symptoms she was experiencing following the

treatment you had provided, you told her “not to be ridiculous” or used

words to that effect;

(e) Following the appointment on 27 September 2008, when asking for,c

payment, you used words to the effect of:

(i) “I would like some dosh”;

(ii) “give me a fiver”.

4. On 27 September 2008, prior to providing treatment to Patient A, you failed to

adequately explain:

(a) the findings of your examination;

(b) your proposed treatment and/or treatment plan.

5. You did not make clear information available to Patient A on the procedures at the

Clinic for making a complaint.

ALLEGATION B:

That being a registered chiropractor you are guilty of professional

incompetence

_____________________________________________________

PARTICULARS OF ALLEGATION B:

That, whilst a registered chiropractor:

1. At all material times you practised as a chiropractor at the Albion Acupuncture &

Chiropractic Clinic (“the Clinic”), 1 Albion Street, Brighton, BN2 2NE.

3

2. On 25 September 2008 you failed to undertake any or any adequate case history and/or

examination and/or formulate a diagnosis of Patient A, who had last attended the Clinic

in around May 2007.

3. In light of Particular 2, it was not appropriate of you to provide treatment to Patient A on

25 September 2008.

4. On or around 25 September 2008, you failed to make any or any adequate record of:

(a) Patient A’s case history;

(b) Patient A’s consent to treatment;

(c) any examination undertaken of Patient A;

(d) a diagnosis and/or rationale for care in respect of Patient A;

(e) a plan of care in respect of Patient A;

(f) a prognosis in respect of Patient A.

5. On 27 September 2008 you failed to undertake any or any adequate examination of

Patient A including in relation to her new symptoms.

6. On or around 27 September 2008, you failed to make any or any adequate record of:

(a) Patient A’s case history;

(b) Patient A’s consent to treatment;

(c) any examination undertaken of Patient A;

(d) a diagnosis and/or rationale for care in respect of Patient A;

(e) a plan of care in relation to Patient A;

(f) a prognosis in respect of Patient A.

7. In light of Particular 6, it was not appropriate of you to provide treatment to Patient A on

27 September 2008.

8. On 25 September 2008, prior to providing treatment to Patient A, you failed to clearly

explain:

(a) the findings of your examination;

(b) your proposed treatment and/or treatment plan;

(c) the risks of chiropractic treatment.

Share Button

Related posts:

  1. Making the complaint fit the GCC Code of Practice so charges can be brought.
  2. How the GCC makes the complaint fit the code of practice
  3. Zenos original complaint against BCA chiropractors
  4. Sceptics use the GCC to attack chiropractors.
  5. Margaret Coats may have chiropractors attending the ECU conference in London arrested
  6. My favourite GCC waste of money “cat hairs on the clinic floor” cost to the GCC £36,000 cost to chiropractic?
  7. De ja vue, every 20 years chiropractors do this to themselves.
  8. How the General Chiropractic Council uses Private Investigators to regulate. In 2007 Peter Dixon denied the GCC used PIs?
  9. GCC begin defining a biomedical scope of practice using the sceptic complaints as cover
  10. Why the United Chiropractic Association (UCA) and traditional chiropractors, should be supporting Simon Sings campaign for free speech.

Tags: ,

  • http://www.campanellahealthcenter.com/back-pain-2/the-negative-effects-of-sitting-all-day/ joint pain relief Rochester NY

    Thanks for sharing information….keep it up………..

  • http://spinaljoint.com Richard Lanigan

    Its amazing the Investigating Committee can not pick out these daft cases.

  • Barney

    This case, originally scheduled for five days and re-scheduled for two, has now been dealt with:

    “The GCC offered no evidence in support of the Allegations in this case. The Committee bore in mind that the burden of proof is on the GCC and in the absence of any evidence to prove the Particulars, and therefore the Allegations, that burden has not been discharged. The Committee dismissed the Allegations under Rule 6(7) of the General Chiropractic Council (Professional Conduct Committee) Rules 2000.”

    Another expensive outing?

  • fed up

    Members of the GCC obviously read this site, I think I commented here(it may have been a skeptics blog)that they were describing chiros on the hearings page as Dr this and Dr that without mentioning they were Drs of chiro, they were breaking their own COP or SOP. It’s all changed now, they have added.

    “The use of the title ‘Dr’ in any of these notices refers to Doctor of Chiropractic.”
    http://www.gcc-uk.org/hearings.cfm

Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: